About Us


Jimmie Scott Named President Of The Academy

The 2014-15 school year was a time of transition at SMA with the retirement of Dr. Garrison on Jan. 30, 2015 and the appointment of Jimmie Scott as Interim President. After serving through the spring semester in the interim capacity, Mr. Scott was named by the Board of Trustees as President on July 8, 2015. 
At that time, he announced some additional staff changes, including the appointment of Jeff Baergen as executive vice president, Rhonda McNeil as director of business affairs and Corey Boyer as dean of residential life.

A highlight of the 2014-15 year was the formal dedication of the Lee Hage Jamail Special Event Center at Homecoming. Joe Jamail was one of the honored guests at the dedication ceremony. The varsity gym was opened in time for basketball season, when the Lady Bears dribbled their way to a state championship in the Academy’s first year of competition in the Texas Association of Christian Schools (TCAL) league.

As the 2015-16 school year began, a new option was open for students to enroll as five-day boarders. This program drew more than a dozen students who lived within a 70-mile radius of the Academy, allowing them to live on campus during the week and at home on the weekends. Also new was a sixth grade class for day students, which opened at full capacity on the first day of classes. The Academy Middle School took over all of Davidson Hall, while the Junior ROTC was relocated to the high school building. Brian Guenther joined the staff to serve as associate academic dean for the growing Middle School, while Cindy Brooks was named associate academic dean for the Upper School, both of them serving under Academic Dean Bob Bryant. In athletics, the Academy celebrated TCAL state championships in football, tennis and swimming
© San Marcos Academy. All Rights Reserved